Adventures of abandons, part 1

The last few years I have really loved finding abandoned structures and taking pictures of them. My friends and I enjoy it, my mom thinks it’s very strange. (Meanwhile, I distinctly remember her telling me a story of how her and her sisters went into an abandoned house with a beehive a few stories high!)

I went searching last weekend with my pup in the car and found a lot more than I had hoped for! Many times, I would be on a busy road and see one in passing and think ahhhhh! I wish I could pull over and get that but there are cars behind me….so I have started keeping notes of those in my brain as well as written down.

So I thought I would share my collection so far with you…in multiple parts. Because there will be more exploring to do. There always is!

♫ Listening to right now:

Where have they gone?

Where have they gone?

lex house 2

lex house 3

lex house 7

lexington house 1

I like to think about their story... did they have to leave or did they leave by choice?

I like to think about their story… did they have to leave or did they leave by choice?

old res 3

Through research I found, believe it or not, this restaurant was only closed in 2009!

Margo’s Yelp reviews- was a booming place once!

old res 1

old res 2


old res 5

I am not really sure what this one is, but it reminds me of Ireland.

I am not really sure what this one is, but it reminds me of Ireland!

The skies were also very dark that day and at times it was so rainy I had to pull over for a bit, so it reminded me of Ireland weather, as well!

The skies were also very dark that day and at times it was so rainy I had to pull over for a bit, so it reminded me of Ireland weather, as well!

This next one saddens me every time I pass it...

This next one saddens me every time I pass it…

burn house 1

I tried to research this one too with no luck so far.

burn house 2

Old lonely farmhouse

Old lonely farmhouse has made a new home for the birdies and critters.

route 28 house 2 route 28 house 5 rt 28 house 1

A little baby one, seen as I went to turn around down a dead end road.

A little baby one, seen as I went to turn around down a dead end road.

abandoned 4

Now, I already posted these in my Seasons passing post, but it was too relevant to this theme, I couldn’t resist.

Berries thriving amongst the dead...

abandoned 5

Do not enter

But do you really want to enter?

And a few lost photos from my week before that somehow didn't make the blog... of this abandoned house I pass all the time and decided to photograph

These were taken awhile ago on my iPhone- not ready to see snow again! But I love this place.

These were taken awhile ago on my iPhone- not ready to see snow again!
But I love this place.

doll 4 doll 2doll1

10 thoughts on “Adventures of abandons, part 1

  1. Hi, I really enjoyed this post. I love abandoned places, though I’ve yet to get the courage to visit any! I’m not sure why I’m so drawn to abandoned places – nice photos by the way. I guess the writer in me finds them inspiring and I do love writing about them. The last story I wrote about an abandon place is this one ; https://thestoryfiles.wordpress.com/2015/08/29/slender-part-1/ If anyone is interested. I’m sure I’ll be back soon to read more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Goals, with Gratitude | thegoodthingscomin

  3. Shannon! These photos and these posts are so original my mind is actually blown.

    I’ve never in my whole life heard of such a creative concept – it’s spooky and creepy and in a weird way oh so beautiful! It’s weird to think that there is energy trapped in so many of these places that remains and holds. It’s one of those things where you can feel it right when you walk inTo a place! It’s crazy to think who lived there.

    Keep up the creative and interesting work! This is so cool!

    Krista

    http://Www.hundredblog.com

    Like

  4. Pingback: Liebster Award! : ) | thegoodthingscomin

Leave a Reply

