Goals, with Gratitude

♫ Listening to right now:

Without stopping to be grateful about what’s in front of us, the here and the now, I think our goals can be anxiety-inducing. Thoughts of the future: we all have them. They can be fleeting ideas more than goals, or can last until they are fulfilled. Either way, our brains are filled up with tunnel visions. I get it so badly. When I want something-I need it, like yesterday. The truth is: the grass is actually greener where you water it. I’m not sure if we can have that much success with our goals without having the gratitude, too. What happens when we succeed- will we focus right away on the next big thing or pat ourselves on the back, take a little rest, and sit with the moment?I have been learning to balance the two much better. Check out my previous post Balance, baby!

At the beginning of every week, I write down my weekly goals in my little dinosaur composition notebook that sits right by my bed.

front of notebook

If I don’t do a certain goal, but do another that is equally as great just in a different way, I cross out the other goal and write whatever I did instead next to it. This tends to have the effect of, “okay, I see I did not make it to the gym this week, but I did go to yoga. Yay me!”

With working hard on my blog lately, I have added another section of blog goals to my weekly goals.

With working hard on my blog lately, I have added another section of blog goals to my weekly goals.

I noticed a dramatic change when I started doing this: I felt more excited about my week despite having a week full of work ahead of me and I felt better about myself for all the goals I saw that I was accomplishing as well as my willingness to forgive myself for not getting everything done, but other things done.


Weekly Goals: (I’m late on this post- it’s already wednesday! Haha.)

  • Finish my book. I vowed New Year’s 2015 to finish one book per month….this will only be the second I have finished this year. But it’s okay, guys! This is the first book I have really loved in awhile. It’s called “The girl who chased the moon” by Sarah Addison Allen and it’s ohh so good.
  • Get back into my healthier habits– this means less wine (wahhh) and more workout. Not only this, but getting back into meditating a few times a week. (I already started this goal, as it’s wednesday already,- went to the gym for the first time in months last night. )
  • See friends- Being an introverted type of person who sincerely enjoys time alone to focus on my own hobbies and myself, I actually do have to put this as a goal for every week. I have definitely gotten much healthier at balancing my introverted ways with still making time for friends.
  • Take pictures for Adventures of the Abandons Part 2 post-(check this out if you don’t know what I mean-Adventure of Abandons part 1)This is another thing I use my dinosaur book for. When I pass something I want to photograph with my good camera and not just my phone, I write it down to remember for later. Then i plan a time to take the camera and do so- i usually pack the pup and camera in the car and it ends up to be quite an adventure.

Gratitude…

Write it down. Everything. The barista finally remembered your name and spelled it right on your cup. Someone said good morning to you that you didn't know- you made someone else's day and they told you so. In my experience, the more you look at your glass half full- the more the universe fills it up.

Write it down. Everything. The barista finally remembered your name and spelled it right on your cup. Someone said good morning to you that you didn’t know- you made someone else’s day and they told you so. In my experience, the more you look at your glass half full- the more the universe fills it up.


Planning!

pooh bear

In my previous post, Mental Health Monthly Favorites, I talked about liking my routines. Planning out my week has become one of these helpful little tidbits for me. I have wanted this kind of planner for awhile- and decided to get it since the year is ending and so was my planner. These planners are built to be decorated, loved, and filled with the wonders of our lives. I bought mine at Michaels, but I found it on amazon too: The Happy Planner!

Planning out my week helps me be more organized and look forward to what’s upcoming, as well as focus on my goals!- Also, stickers always make everything more exciting and spice it up, right?

Well, I know where my money will go now. Sigh. But also, yay!

Well, I know where my money will go now. Sigh. But also, yay!

planner 4 quote and slippers planner 2 stickers

I went to show this to my mom today and she said, “You have always loved stickers!

Yes, mama. You know it.

planner quote

I am using this for work, every day life, and my blog now.

I am using this for work, every day life, and my blog now.

Do you all have a method of feeling good about your goals and your gratitude?

simple saturday button


25 thoughts on “Goals, with Gratitude

  1. You are loved. Awesome, and cool, in so many ways. I can’t get enough of you, IRL and via the internet!

    Also:
    “In my experience, the more you look at your glass half full- the more the universe fills it up.”
    Absolutely Beautiful- tears in my eyes, little sister.
    xoxo
    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic post Shannon! I think journaling is a great practice. I use my blog like a journal and to feel good about myself like you say! I can scroll through and see where I have been and what I have accomplished photographically. I am a ‘to do’ list maker and it makes me feel good when I can cross things off. On the flip side being an ‘A Type’ I like to remind myself I am a human ‘being’ not a human ‘doing’ and it is OK to just ‘be’ at times!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Giving, with gratitude | thegoodthingscomin

  4. Planning is my life! 🙂 I have been using a paper planner for two years now, and it has made such a difference in how I manage my time and to dos. I’ve been hearing a lot about The Happy Planner, I need to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment francine! I love planning now too! I am actually going to do an updated post about this soon and kind of a review- the happy planner was good at first, but the pages are not stable and started falling out for me. So i actually just ordered a websters pages planner and am patiently awaiting it’s arrival!!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Merry little Christmas decorating | thegoodthingscomin

  6. Pingback: Christmas Happy planner | thegoodthingscomin

  7. Pingback: Goals, gratitude, and rounding up the year | thegoodthingscomin

  8. You are wise beyond your years, my dear! Gratitude should definitely have a place in our everyday lives–not just at Thanksgiving. I’m going to start a gratitude section in my journal today!

    P.S. I love stickers, too! That’s secretly why I became a teacher… 😉

    Like

  9. Pingback: Goals, with Gratitude: Part 2 | thegoodthingscomin

  10. Pingback: We have our days | thegoodthingscomin

  11. Pingback: Spring goals | thegoodthingscomin

  12. I love this! So important to plan, write intentions down and review! The results are amazing when we do this!! I love that YOU do this 🙂 As the years have gone by I look back at my lists, goals etc and am stunned at the difference it makes. The gratitude part is just as important to me as lived life with a lot of what if’s’ I don’t do that anymore because I AM GRATEFUL! ❤

    Like

  13. Pingback: The big happy planner! | thegoodthingscomin

  14. Pingback: Sunday weekly planning | thegoodthingscomin

  15. Pingback: Sunday weekly planning | thegoodthingscomin

  16. Pingback: 25 goals for 25 | thegoodthingscomin

  17. Pingback: November gratitude: week 1 | thegoodthingscomin

Leave a Reply

