Goals, gratitude, and rounding up the year

♫ Listening now:


I hope you all had a wonderful and relaxing time with your families on the holiday.

christmas fam picoutside by fire

It was warm enough here in upstate NY that we were able to sit out by the fire!

I always get the after Christmas blues a little bit. December flew by this year and you work so hard to make the season and the day amazing and then before you know it it’s over so quickly. I hardly had enough time this year to watch all of my favorite Christmas movies!  But on the other hand, I find it’s kind of nice to get back to some sort of routine.

If you remember, I had a post Goals, with gratitude, where I talked about how gratitude helps me make and achieve my goals. Christmas time, especially, has me thinking about what Im grateful for and how far I have come from the Christmas before.

“And so this is Christmas
And what have we done
Another year over
And a new one just begun”

Gratitude: Last Christmas, I was in a job I was unhappy in, mainly because of anxieties I created in my own head.  This year, I am still in that job and appreciate it so much more and realize that many of my anxieties were out of proportion to what was going on in my real life. I am still in that job and much more confident at my abilities at it and I am up for a promotion this January. I also see how much it has taught me about myself and believe I am here for a reason right now- to listen, learn, and grow from the people I work for and the clients I am helping.As some of my anxieties lessoned, my gratitude for what I had in front of me and was not seeing before grew.

….And every Christmas, I become less concerned about gifts and more happy to spend time with those who really matter and see their faces when they open their gifts. I have so much gratitude  for this coming of age, and I think it’s inevitable for all of us as we get older, I’m grateful for discovering the true meaning of Christmas more and more every year. 

Goals and rounding it up…

I don’t really like to make New Years resolutions, I prefer to take it month by month, week by week, day by day.

My goals for January 2016:

  • Register for an animal shelter management certificate class online, finally. I have been wanting to do something with animals for a long time now and I’m going to stop thinking and the how and just start doing. Just work on it; worry about the rest later.
  • Working on my calm. More healthy habits to contribute to a healthier mind, because this goal has fallen by the wayside for awhile now. This means more meditation, exercise, and more tea; less coffee. Some coffee is necessary, but I also know it’s not the best for me. [I got a ton of loose leaf tea and a tea infuser for Christmas to work on this goal! And they are all delicious.]
  • De-clutter, physically and psychologically. I already started this goal, yay! I have finally taken on the daunting task of organizing my crazy messy jewelry box- I got rid of so much jewelry I no longer wore and untangled a mess of my favorite necklaces. Plus, I found jewelry I had thought I had lost but was really just in the abyss of my clutter. I felt better immediately, especially for completing a task I have been avoiding for years! I have also donated a few bags of clothes and have stuff up on ebay to sell.
  • Save money and stop spending money on things and instead spend on classes, experiences, etc.
  • Dig out the gratitude journal and start writing gratitudes down again. There is something just helpful about physically writing down what you are grateful for every day and sticking to it. Sure, I think of them in my mind. But writing them down makes it clearer to me and makes me feel better about my day.

Those are the main ones for me. What are your goals for January? Share with me, I’d love to hear them and maybe I’ll get some more ideas for myself!

So to round up the year, we only have 6 days. As Jack Dawson would say, to “make it count.” 

jack titanic.jpg

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Goals, gratitude, and rounding up the year

Leave a Reply

