A letter from your introverted [hermit] friend

Listening now….


Dear friend,

It’s been awhile, I know.I hope you read this in a happy place and maybe understand more about me in the end.

You probably know this about me- but when I need me time, I go all in. After all, I need ample time to play my sims, watch my you tubers, watch Downton abbey, color in my stress relieving coloring book, research things on google, browse Netflix for an hour only to watch nothing and fall asleep, play with my dogs and talk to them like humans, etc….etc.

Also it’s winter- cold out, dark earlier, I haven’t seen you as much. It’s harder for me now- some days I come home and just want to curl up, with my hobbies, and alone- more than usual. You are probably thinking, oh great, it will be even harder to get you out of the house now!

Perhaps you are right.

However, I promise the time will come for me to leave my humble abode and accompany you to whatever social gathering you may have to drag me to [perhaps kicking and screaming, just give me a little wine beforehand-I’ll be fine]

Funny enough, it may have been my idea originally to leave my little space[I’m thinking to myself-it’s been awhile, I probably should go somewhere….]- only to bug you an hour after we get there to see if you are ready to leave yet.

Thank you for being patient, is all I can say.

Thank you for not being a high maintenance friend- and understanding that if I don’t text you/ hang out with you in a few weeks, I promise I still love you and want to see you.

Thank you for forcing me to do things when I don’t want to- we all need friends like that.

Thanks for letting me play Sims when we hang out [and not judging me……too much]

Thank you for understanding, accepting me, and loving me for who I am- and not trying to change that.

XOXO

 

 

 

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “A letter from your introverted [hermit] friend

  1. Love this letter. The greatest thing we introvert can have it a friend who knows when to push us and when to give us the space we need to recharge. That’s truly a good friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shannon,
    I relate to this so hard! Especially the comment about talking to your dogs like they’re humans. I really love your blog. Keep up the good work! I especially like the soundcloud on most posts, that’s so great!
    Amy
    naturally-amy.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you amy- I’m so glad you can relate!! “Introverts unite- in our separate homes” hahah! I loved your blog as well- and yes, I try to post music in every post- stay tuned! Thank you for reading! β€οΈπŸ€—

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Diary of a Gamer: Part 1 | thegoodthingscomin

  4. Pingback: A letter to my younger self | thegoodthingscomin

  5. Pingback: Food truck; sleepy pup; spring cleanup | thegoodthingscomin

  6. Pingback: Friday thoughts… | thegoodthingscomin

  7. Pingback: Weekend roundup; weekly planning | thegoodthingscomin

  8. Pingback: Currently in October | thegoodthingscomin

  9. Yes, yes, yes! This is so me, and I used to feel weird and guilty for how my personality sometimes makes me interact with others. But over the last few years, I’ve started learning more about myself and becoming more comfortable with who I really am. Now I know that there’s NOTHING wrong with being introverted! We’re actually the best. πŸ™‚

    I’m really blessed to have friends who understand this and don’t try to change me. They just enjoy my quirks and make sure I’m still social, haha.

    Also, “Isle of Netflix”! πŸ˜‚ Too funny β€” love that little picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Why I love being an introvert | thegoodthingscomin

Leave a Reply

