We have our days

music noteListening now…

Last week, I did a post called The hustle and bustle of us

I was having a different monday perhaps than now.

It just made me think of how we just have our days.

I didn’t wake up as cheery as last Monday and didn’t feel as inspired at work or about a blog post to write, even.

Don’t get me wrong- I wanted to get out of bed and start my day and my week; but i felt more like this today: Delicate.

The seasonal sadness hit me a little harder today as I struggled to stay warm, it was bitter out. I still had a good day and it’s not over yet- I’m just happy to be home.

But we have our days and that’s okay. This is only human, we are not stagnant. We change like the seasons and our feelings, thoughts, and emotions shift day by day.

“Sometimes it’s okay if the only thing you did today was breathe.” 

It’s mid January and [some of us] are freezing- how do you all cope with your winter mental health? Maybe we can help each other out.

For me lately it has been:

Tea

Blogging

Planning [Goals, with gratitude]

Watching good shows-[Downton Abbey and Shameless!]

Staying cozy- more time inside to relax

Keeping up with my exercise- even if it’s only once a week, I feel a lot better.

Thinking about my future and my goals

 

Looking forward to this:

But in the meantime, 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “We have our days

  1. I also have Seasonal Affective Disorder. Something that does wonders is TANNING. (What?!?) Hear me out: SAD is a result of coldness and lack of vitamin D, which affects melatonin. My dr told me I could go to a therapist and post $50 for 30 min under a photo therapy light, I could shot by a window and hope I get enough D, OR I could tan for 5-10 min 1-2x a week for $10 a pop.

    Tanning is cheap, quick enough to do on my lunch break, and since you get nekkid, it’s a huge flood of full body warm. It’s not the same as full actual sunlight, but its warm, it’s relaxing, and I feel 1000x better when done!

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment! I think i have it very mildly… But they also have something called a light box which is supposed to give you the same vitamin d as say the tanning bed, without as many bad effects- i have been meaning to get one myself! Maybe something worth looking into!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So brave of you to talk about mental health and even braver of you to acknowledge that “Sometimes it’s okay if the only thing you did today was breathe.” That is my biggest struggle and the biggest obstacle holding me back on my blogging endeavor. Though I’ve spent a lot of time doing mindfulness practice, I still seem to believe that one day I will wake up and all of the bad days will be gone, but of course that’s not true and I just need to cut myself a little slack. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I know what you mean. You have a positive attitude though and yes, we will get though it. I have a quote on my wall that says “we all get a little f-ed up sometimes” (but the f word is spelled out) and I have it there just to keep things real. Thank YOU for being honest and Summer is on it’s way….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s definitely easy to get gloomy in the winter. I like sitting by my fireplace and enjoying warm blankets. Tea and wine are great supplements to the time I get to spend cooking in the winter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

