A 20 something’s guide to Adulting

Listening now….pups snoring; wind chimes; wind; peace and quiet….

adulting.jpg

Welcome to part 2 of my 20 somethings guides. [Part 1 here]

I hope they prove useful to you- we could all use a little help, no?

 

We are in this together!

adulting

 

Realize that we all do not know what we are doing. Not just you!

You are not the only one who is considering a career change even though you just graduated, struggling with keeping up with your own laundry and wondering how moms do it all, and have about 20 million open tabs in their mind at one time. We’ve all been there, in the wine store, browsing the nice section of reds for a moment, just to not look cheap before we quickly grab our usual big bottle of $10 wine.

Averting your eyes of judgement is half of what we know so well– yeah, we see you.

Watch Girls. 

Honestly, Sex and the City and friends are amazing, but they are not realistic. Girls will show you what it actually is like to be a 20 something today and the how real the struggles are.

Shosh can always most definitely relate to whatever you are going through.

Naps. All day, every day.

 

Oh- wait….. you have a full time job, a gym schedule, and student loans to pay. And sometimes you would like to be social, perhaps. So squeeze a nap in when absolutely necessary/ unable to stand up and function anymore.

As I came home from a day at work including a meeting I was absolutely dreading all day, I realized I was worn out. I literally came home and had to nap.

I napped 2 hours and if it were not for my sister, I may have slept through the night. Welcome to naps as a functioning adult. Sometimes you just need that- and that’s okay.

nap.jpg

Via Etsy Fb page

 

Do as much as you can, but don’t drive yourself crazy.

good things.jpg

You may as well do that thing you have been wanting to do- but the balance is important, too.

If you can make the time to have fun and explore new things while working hard and advancing yourself in some way- whether that be in school, work, or personally- then I think you are doing pretty well.

There are so many options out there for us- the struggle is to not drive ourselves crazy wondering what ifs about all of the choices. It is not humanely possible to do it all.

 

Be kind to yourself.

be kind.jpg

It’s so important to remember, yet so easy to forget.

Awhile ago I wrote this- [Being kind to ourselves post]

I think this goes with everything else too- being kind with what we put in our bodies, how we treat them, taking care of our minds, bodies, and spirits in all ways possible. Which is oh so easy to forget when our moods may we down and we had a bad day. We might reach for our favorite food or drink and skip working out- we know what’s good for us but opt out of it most days. I think this is an ongoing day to day process and I’m not sure if the battle ever ends, honestly. But we do our best!
Thanks for reading XOXO 

Do you have any tips on adulting? I can use all the help I can get…

 

27 thoughts on “A 20 something’s guide to Adulting

  1. Even us adults struggle at times with finding the balance….but at my age I also know when I have to say “NO” to certain social invitations just so I can have some time for me. And despite my longing for leftover ravioli today….I put it back in the fridge and grabbed baby carrots and hummus for lunch. I won’t feel so guilty when I enjoy some wine later! It’s a balancing act, for sure. And nobody’s perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being a twenty something year old is a transitionary period that we’ve been preparing for in the teenage years but that never makes things easier. I feel this they are the years with the most tears, regret and uncertainty but we’ll continue to push through. Cheers to being twenty something !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this! My kids are older than you… but this reminds me of my youngest – she is a great napper! (Now I’m in menopause and can’t seem to fall asleep for a nap) – ha ha – so enjoy it … and so true be easy on yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks clare… I am indeed a napper too… It is so needed! Lol i have refound my love for naps lately 🙂 i hope your daughter always have time for naps and that you someday are able to nap again!

      Like

  4. This is so great and so true. I feel like Girls is on of the first and few shows that really got what it’s like being in your 20s!
    I got home and had so much to do but was just wiped out today. I was going to lay down for 20 minutes and took a hour and a half nap lol sometimes you just need it.
    Really great post. And yeah if I spend more $5 on a bottle of “we gettin fancy” lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post on adulting as a 20-something! I think it’s always good to remember that there are so many others going through the same struggles. Being kind to yourself is one of the best things you can do. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: A guide to 20 something myths | thegoodthingscomin

  7. Pingback: A 20 something’s guide to an anxious mind | thegoodthingscomin

  8. Pingback: Friyay Thoughts… | thegoodthingscomin

Leave a Reply

