Diary of a Gamer: Part 1

 

 

gh small.pnglife is strange 1.jpg

 

Listening now…


I have been wanting to introduce gaming to my blog for awhile now, so here we go.

 

I am a huge fan of gaming ever since I was 7 years old and immersed myself into the world of The Sims. I still play, but don’t have nearly as much time to as I used to. I told you guys I was a big introvert, right?….[A letter from your introverted [hermit] friend]

My favorite games to play ever are point and click adventure games, where you explore a world of your own and the objects within it lead to the story unfolding.

Two of my absolute favorite games of all time do this so perfectly- Gone Home and Life is Strange. 

There are just some games that leave you thinking about them for a long time after, maybe even forever. These two games had stories that made you feel, like a really good book that you sink into.

Not only that, but they are both beautifully made. 

Even if you are not a gamer, I think you can still appreciate the art in the games.

Gone Home

Gome Home

 

June 7, 1995. 1:15 AM.

“You arrive home after a year abroad. You expect your family to greet you, but the house is empty. Something’s not right. Where is everyone? And what’s happened here?

Gone home is an interactive exploration simulator. Interrogate every detail of a seemingly normal house to discover the story of the people who live there. Open any drawer and door. Pick up objects and examine them to discover clues. Uncover the events of one family’s lives by investigating what they’ve left behind.”

Go home again.

 

gone home house 1.jpg

The game is so well made, you feel like you are physically there, in the rooms of the house.

 

I sat up for hours exploring every little nook and cranny of the house, trying to find out where everyone had gone.

The other awesome aspect to this game is it takes place in 1995, and me being a 90’s kid, some of the things I found in the house really brought me back- I felt like I could relate to the game and that, for me, added even more to the personal feeling I got from it.

I am also thrilled because Fullbright Company, the makers of Gone Home, are releasing another adventure exploration style game this year, called Tacoma. 

Check that out here: Tacoma

As for Gone Home, no spoilers- you will just have to play for yourself.

Life is Strange

Welcome to the world of Chloe and Max. Best friends who lost touch for awhile and came back together at the perfect time, when Max discovers her powers to rewind and fast forward time.  Using this, they set out to find out about the many strange things going on in their town of Arcadia Bay.

With 5 episodes that build onto each other and differ depending on what choices you make in the game, there is plenty of time to get you hooked. And it is yet another game that I think is just stunning to look at. 

“Life Is Strange is a five part episodic game that sets out to revolutionise story based choice and consequence games by allowing the player to rewind time and affect the past, present and future.”

Life is Strange

Like Gone home, you pick up random objects and explore areas of the game, building onto the story.

I also love the relatable aspect of this game too, I felt like I was physically back in high school at times [which can be as scary as it sounds in some parts] but also really nostalgic.

Another aspect I love is Max keeps a journal and writes in it regularly as the story progresses, and you can explore that, too. You can also take photographs and regularly receive text messages to read.

I have also been really enjoying seeing the fan art that is made to honor these games:

LIS art 4

 

I hope that even if you are not a gamer, maybe this shed some light on just how beautiful of an experience they can be… XOXO

Thanks for reading!

29 thoughts on “Diary of a Gamer: Part 1

  1. I love your post. I am a gamer myself and the games that you posted brought me back to my uni days when I would play escape games in Miniclip.com behind my IT professor’s back. Have always loved games. I love RPG the best. I get you when you said that Gone Home was *the* game that made you a gamer. Final Fantasy IX did that for me. Anyway, awesome post and it is nice to read about a fellow gamer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah that sounds interesting! I had grown bored of the new games as I find absolutely no diversity in them at all. Most of the time I go shopping, I only find football, war and gangster games that were also available during previous consoles.
    I’m a bit of an oldie, I used to play since I was 08 years old I think, and I went through so many games fro ps1 to 3, PC, XBOX, etc.. btu ps1 despite the lack of quality sometimes compared to ps3, it had at least a big variety of games like cards, dancing, arcade, adventure, war, etc…

    Like

  3. Pingback: A letter to my younger self | thegoodthingscomin

  4. Pingback: Games on the watch: Tacoma | thegoodthingscomin

  5. Pingback: Gaming Wishlist | thegoodthingscomin

  6. Pingback: Flea market, dog day, and drives | thegoodthingscomin

  7. Pingback: August Favorites | thegoodthingscomin

Leave a Reply

