2016 triumphs; 2017 goals

Listening now…

I hope you all had a safe and happy New Years filled with those you love and plenty of goals you promise to keep.  ; )

We started off the holiday with some snow tubing with Frankie’s family and later on that night a lovely evening of a double date complete with snow, pecan pie, and champagne at midnight…

 

 

tubing.jpgnye-1desertdeer mtn.jpg

nye-babe

I broke out sparkly orange tights for NYE because you can never be sparkly or glittery enough on this night! 

 

So while I think it’s important to create new resolutions or goals for the new year, I almost think it is even more important to ourselves to realize our triumphs of the year behind us.

We are notoriously hard on ourselves as a society and it’s really sad.

We have to acknowledge our triumphs and I wanted to share with you my 2016 triumphs so maybe you will be inspired to pat yourself on the back, too!

 

2016 triumphs:

 

Being healthy!

yoga.jpg

I have successfully kept my promise to myself and have gone to the gym consistently for about a year and a half along with yoga once a week, but only recently have actually started seeing real results! I’m really proud of myself for this, for eating healthy, and for trying new classes like piyo and spin. Spin is what I have actually seen results from and have kept up with for quite a few months now- I especially like it because it’s an intense cardio workout that you can sit down the whole time if you wish, LOL. About 5 minutes into the class I am regretting my decision to sign up and dreaming of my wine and the couch, but I push through!

 

spin gif 2.gif

 

Keeping up with this blog. 

This past August was my 1 year blogiversary and the victory of also actually keeping up with something consistently! I get distracted a lot and tend to want to try so many things, that often they fall to the wayside. But this blog has become a lot more to me than I imagined and inspired me to be more positive, do more, etc! It has become a journal for me, even writing about my triumphs right now is giving me perspective for all that I have done this past year- let’s face it, writing things down and seeing it in front of you makes it real. And is really therapeutic!

 

 

 

 My first sponsored blog post! 

 

I basically love Oriental Trading and they gave me my first sponsored post-on one of my favorite things ever, Halloween decor. 

They even sent me a Christmas card thanking me for being a brand ambassador and saying they enjoyed working with me- simply a pleasure to work with and I feel honored! It also inspired me to reach out to more brands in the future.

 

 

Making steps towards my dreams. 

I continued volunteering for the SPCA, (although in 2017 I want to walk way more doggies) explored schooling, and completed an internship at the animal sanctuary of my dreams. I really really want to work in the animal welfare field and a sanctuary would be perfect. I explored and took classes in the Vet Tech program, went back and forth and still do, but I think I want to focus on the animal welfare and nonprofit side of things. I also realized I think I want a job where I can be a bit creative. I currently work for a nonprofit and it is so flexible, rewarding, and I have never been treated better in a job before. Right now I am exploring a graduate non profit administration program and will probably try a class to see if I like it…. to be continued! I know what I want, the getting there is a bit confusing…but all in all, proud of myself for making the steps.

Remember my 17 quotes for 2017 post? Well, I am tired….but this quote holds so much truth. Remember to rest.

rest.jpg

 

Without goals, we would not have triumphs? Am I right? Alas…. goals for 2017.

 

2017 goals:

 

Be more consistent with my blog…

 

While it’s great that I have kept up with my blog so well (triumph!), my consistency is lacking. I am not going to lie, the holidays had me slacking quite a bit, but there were times when I was in school and I will be in school again this coming semester, and it’s all about balance, right? I want to always improve my ability to balance everything and in turn, better this blog.

The thing is, I know this blog could be more amazing if I kept up on it and did more bloggy outreach kind of things. This is a goal! I want to maintain my blog connections better and keep up on everyone else’s blogging life, as well. Bloggers write about their lives but cannot be self absorbed to succeed in this world of blog…isn’t it ironic?

 

 

Continue trying new things…

 

This year I really was proud of myself for getting out of my comfort zone and trying new things- 2017 has goals for me to try silks, pole dancing classes, and hip hop classes. To name a few!  Along with this, I want to hike more unknown terrain, literally. Last summer any time off I spent at the lake, my favorite place in the world. But because of this, I also didn’t venture out as much to new areas to explore…this spring/summer I want to find new places to explore!

 

hike.jpg

 

Save, save, save…

 

save money.jpg

This goal is kind of 4 goals wrapped in 1-

This year I really want to travel, move out on my own, and take classes for school… These things require a lot of money! So it’s time to save.

If I take a graduate class it is over 1k plus books. It’s insane. Thank God for payment plans is all I can say…

I am really good at selling things I no longer wear on Ebay. I fell off of it for a bit but I think it is time to jump back on that! You can make such good money while clearing out your clutter  and if you have enough of an Ebay following and good rating, people trust to buy from you and are more likely to do so. And now that I have my Canon Rebel, it’s easier to take good shots.

Be happy, healthy, and more present.

 

More meditation, more tea, less anxiety. Please, 2017?

I have some smaller goals too like read more books and to learn the ukelele (finally) but I’m trying to focus on the big picture here….

 

charlie brown .jpg

 

 

9 thoughts on “2016 triumphs; 2017 goals

  1. Where did you go snow tubing at? We went while in Banff. It was a blast! I can’t wait to go there again. Being healthy is something that I plan on doing in 2017. I have kind of slacked off and I need to get back into my grind. Congrats on blogging for over a year now!! That’s awesome!!! Def go for your dreams!!!Saving up is another goal I have for myself this year as well as paying some debt off. Good luck with your goals this year! You got this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful post this is, my sweet ❤ I wish you all of these things in 2017 and so much more. Yes, to more mindfulness, peace, and less anxiety. I wish, I wish, I wish!!

    As an aside, can I just say how much I friggin LOVE that you put in a gif here from one of my favorite movies, Romy and Michelle's High School Reunion?! Holy… that movie always leaves me in stitches! It looks like you had a wonderful NYE and I love that you got to eat pecan pie–one of my favorites!

    I'll sprinkle some blogging consistency fairy dust your way. I struggle with this myself, but scheduling on weekends has helped me immensely.

    XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Charlotte- so something really strange is going on where when you comment on my blog for some reason and I read your comment on my phone it NEVER shows the whole comment, so I thought you just wrote, “what a wonderful post this is, my sweet” lol really weird…! But so I am responding to the rest of this now but thank you I so need blogging consistency my way!!!Next thing I know I’m like omg it’s been a week since I have posted! We moved offices this week too so it’s been extra crazy… I will try the scheduling on weekends thing for sure, thank you charlotte!!! XOXO

      Like

Leave a Reply

