Stories of Santorini…Part 4: Food!

Listening now…

 

First off I wanted to say thank you for bringing us up to 700 followers!!

 

 

I am so incredibly humbled and every time I reach another mile stone it makes me want to focus on this even more and more. This is really my little sanctuary and I am so thankful for it. It doesn’t seem like that long ago that I blogged about my 500 followers milestone!

 

So, what better way to celebrate big things than food?! In Greece they definitely celebrate their food…

 

taverna.jpgcafe.jpgfood 5.jpgcafe 2

frappe

Greek frappes were an every day occurrence for us. #Caffeine

pastry.jpg

greek pizza.jpg

A happy girl is a girl with Greek pizza and an orange lit moon with her man! #Pizzaforever

 

 

Speaking of food….it’s a good thing there are a million steps in Santorini. Walking up the side of those caldera cliffs isn’t easy, but oh so worth it. We managed to both come home actually weighing less than before we left! We counted 110 steps to walk up and down from our hotel every day.

 

Here is a list of our favorite places that we were lucky enough to wine and dine at on our trip:

 

Let’s start with Gyros. All day every day.

We thought our festival gyros at home were good until we tried them in Greece. They always put french fries on their gyros and paprika! Also in Greece I noticed they do other meat besides lamb, which makes me think that the lamb Gyro is the Americanized version.

We went to Lucky’s Souvlakis and we ended up going there like once a day. Lol. When in Greece!

 

food 1.jpgluckys.jpg

 

Heliotopos Hotel Restaurant and Wine Bar

 

We ate at our hotel, Heliotopos, a few nights and that was amazing. It doesn’t get much better than eating out on the Terrace overlooking the sunset.

 

helio.jpg

My wonderful mama sent us wine and a cheese plate! Heaven….

food 2drinks.jpgfood 3

wine bar.jpg

This is where we had breakfast every morning- buffet style complete with fresh fruit, homemade jams and Greek pastries. 

 

Sunset in Ammoudi Bay

 

We were lucky enough to get to eat at Sunset Ammoudi twice- the first time for actual dinner and the seconds for appetizers and wine as we watched the sunset.

 

ammoudi.jpg

 

To get down to the restaurant, you have to walk the  Oia to Ammoudi Bay  steps, which I wrote about in my Santorini Bucket List. 

 

steps .jpgammoudi.jpgammoud wineammoudi wine 2ammoudi 2.jpg

 

As you can see, your table is literally on the edge of the Bay. The wine bucket was perched on the side of the edge of the table only held up by a metal piece. It was such a unique experience!

What made it even more unique was when we heard a splash and looked over to see a man swimming in the water.  (I wish I got a picture of that!) Now, Greek water in May is freezing on even a hot and sunny day. Our waiter told us “Oh yes, that is our staff- he jumps into the water to grab people’s things when they drop them from their tables.”

Talk about Greek hospitality.

 

wine.jpgwine and boat.jpg

 

I am really not a fish person. But the waiter said, ” If you don’t like it I promise I will bring you something else and offer my sincerest apologies.” He said he would bring me the least “fishy” tasting fish they had.

I believe this was a Mackerel and it was actually good- although I would not order it myself.

Our waiter stood at our table for a good while picking out every single bone and explaining about the fish to us.

 

fish.jpggreek desert.jpg

 

 

 

 

Metaxy Mas- Exo Gonia, Santorini

 

This was our absolute favorite restaurant of the entire trip.

metaxy

The view outside of Metaxy Mas.

 

When you sit down you are greeted warmly with a complimentary dish of cheese, olives, and bread as well as what we thought was a jar of water at first. Upon drinking this strong liquid we realized this was definitely not water, but a very potent liquor oh which I am unsure of the name! Haha.

 

met 1met 2met 4.jpg

 

While here, I fell in love with this pottery dish that our wine was served in. I asked Frankie if he thought they might sell them. Since it had their name on it I thought maybe they did! Who knows?! Anyway, we asked our waitress who very politely said, ” I don’t know, let me go check.” A few minutes later she came back with a carefully wrapped paper with tape. She said, “It’s a gift.” And handed me my beloved pottery!

Between this “gift,” the man who jumped into the water at Sunset Ammoudi to get people’s things, all of the complimentary dishes we were served, and our hotel staff, I am still truly humbled with the hospitality we experienced in Greece.

 

met 6.jpgmenu.jpgmet 5.jpg

 

We both agreed that this was the best thing we have ever eaten. Ever.

This was a 4 cheese pastry with a blackberry sauce.

Frankie seems to think it is the Greek Kataifi.

I am pretty sure we licked the plate clean and savored every second.

 

met pastrymet pasta

metaxy desert.jpg

Another complimentary dish!

met7

And the view isn’t bad either…!

 

Anogi- Imerovigli, Santorini

 

This was our second favorite place and we ended up going here on a whim on one of our last nights even though we passed it on the quad every day coming and going from our hotel. It was walking distance from our hotel and truly yummy! This is also where Frankie tried Ouzo, an extremely strong Greek liquor. It has a Licorice like taste, so it was not my favorite at all! But something I felt like I had to try : )

I wish I got a picture of my actual main dish…

 

anogibreadanogi desert

 

Greek food is definitely yummy and they really love their pastries, frappes, cheese, and olives.

Did I make you hungry?

 

Thanks for reading and stay tuned! I think I am going to do one more part : )  XOXO

16 thoughts on “Stories of Santorini…Part 4: Food!

Leave a Reply

