20 somethings guide to an indecisive mind

Listening now…

 

 

I am obsessed with Willow Smith right now. And this song especially. Don’t be indecisive about hitting the play button…

 

decision.jpg

 

It’s time for another 20 somethings guide! This one kind of related to my 20 somethings guide to an anxious mind post.

I feel like the 2 are intertwined here. The world has so many options.  This is great but also terrifying. It can become a cycle of indecisiveness, leading to anxiety, and anxiety leading to indecisiveness. And exhaustion!

 

 

 

I struggle with this a lot lately so I felt the need to write from what I have experienced myself. I am not saying I have overcome this and this may be something that always plagues us as humans, naturally, who crave perfection. So I thought I would create a guide because what else do I do when I am going through something- help others…and pretend to know what I am doing!

 

Start somewhere. 

 

 

Take the first step, through the insecurity and indecision.  “Feel the fear and do it anyway.”

Take that class even if you are not sure if you want to do that for the rest of your life. Realize that you don’t even have to finish that degree just because you started. Those classes could still contribute to you getting your dream job. It’s okay to change your mind once you are “in” something and move onto something else.  In my opinion, this is way better than sitting around thinking about starting something and remaining stagnant. Growth is moving forward, in spite of your mind shouting “what if’s” at you. Better yet, what if you don’t start? Usually that is a worse outcome in our minds. (And IRL.)

 

Stop being commitment phobic and fearful of making a mistake. 

 

 

While sitting here trying to think about why it may be that we are indecisive, the thought came to my mind that we are afraid to commit and that we are fearful of mistakes. The 2 are also intertwined. Us humans are commitment phobes. What are mistakes, anyway? They translate into life experience….necessary, raw, and real life experience.

 

You can make decisions without being impulsive. 

 

 

What I mean by this is- say you are thinking about exploring a new career but don’t want to leave your good job immediately for something you are unsure about. You can take a class after work or around your schedule to see if it’s something you would like first, before jumping all the way in. You can keep your safety net close by while you explore thing “unsafe” and “scary” new possibility. Also I love the quote, “Don’t make a permanent decision on a temporary feeling. ”

 

Find yourself and you will (hopefully) find your decision

 

 

Journal, volunteer, meditate. Work on yourself and try not to focus on the pressure of this decision so much and through these things, you may end up actually coming to one.

 

Even if the decision ends up ultimately being something different than what you originally decided, you still learned something from it. Those classes you took were not a waste and can be applied elsewhere. That thing you did may have been what you needed to do in that moment at that time.

 

Trust your instinct….Even if the path is not “clear,” trust that it will lead somewhere. 

 
And it does not have to look clear to anyone else, either. As long as you trust that the decision will eventually lead you to where you want to be, that’s all that matters.

 

“I have been and still am a seeker, but I have ceased to question stars and books; I have begun to listen to the teaching my blood whispers to me.”
― Hermann Hesse, Demian. Die Geschichte von Emil Sinclairs Jugend

 

 

4 thoughts on “20 somethings guide to an indecisive mind

  1. This is wonderful ❤ love especially that oscar Wilde quote… I think it's important to remember that the road we take curves and leads in sometimes unexpected directions… but you're so right recfollobg our brains with teachings and our lives with rich experiences. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

