November Gratitude ; Week 1

Listening now…

 

 

It’s that time of year again.

Everyone is gearing up for the holidays, getting cozy, and feeling those Sweet November vibes.

 

 

And while most of the world is skipping over Thanksgiving and running right to Christmas (I know guys I get it, it’s the absolute best and I myself am guilty of watching Christmas movies earlier this year….sorry!) I like to stop and reflect on my gratitude.

 

 

For the past 3 years on this little blog, I have done November gratitude posts. Looking back on my posts, this one hurts my heart, as it was our very last Thanksgiving with my dear papa.

 

33F7247D-68D7-4DAE-BDF2-2514CEEE6DF6.jpeg

 

Speaking of gratitude, I’ll always be thankful for the Lessons my papa taught me.

 

Re reading them over and reflecting on this past year (this is another reason we love the holidays) they ring more true than ever.

 

Yes, it really has been quite the year. In so many good and changing ways.

 

My November Gratitude ; Week 1:

 

99835A0C-0E82-4CAD-9CD6-7F06071BFF50The amazing support I have gotten from my family and friends while starting my business. Go read my last post where I talk about that journey!

 

Starting a business is not by any means easy. If it was, everyone would be doing it! Having a good support system is completely vital to succeed. Frankie has gone above and beyond in being patient with me while we waited to reap the benefits (and see the kind of profit we need to see) to keep me going.

Along with that, he has been SUPER patient while he has been watching me turn our upstairs room into my office and understands that re-selling items means I need to have a fully stocked inventory ; )

 

 

99835A0C-0E82-4CAD-9CD6-7F06071BFF50Being able to do what I love, work from home, and receiving those love notes once buyers receive their items. It makes me so happy to see that people love these items as much as I do because I pick each and every one out so carefully!

 

Screen Shot 2019-11-03 at 1.23.41 PMScreen Shot 2019-11-03 at 1.27.09 PM.png

 

Follow my Shannysells instagram page!

You can also follow my journey here on Youtube.

I do a lot of thrift hauls, what sold videos, and vlogs! I just finished doing Vlogtober and had SO much fun doing that and am ready to take on Vlogmas, where I post a video every day in December. So make sure you are following along so you don’t miss that!

Another Youtube goal I have is to post helpful content such as Poshmark and Ebay selling tips (I did 2 tips videos for Ebay already) that are uncommon/ things you don’t hear about a lot while searching for help. Coming soon!

 

99835A0C-0E82-4CAD-9CD6-7F06071BFF50I’m so grateful to be spending the holidays for the first year in our new home!

 

 

I am already thinking of ideas to decorate for Christmas and cannot wait to scroll through other blogs and Pinterest for inspiration…!

 

Do you guys already have Christmas decor ideas?

 

99835A0C-0E82-4CAD-9CD6-7F06071BFF50I’m grateful for food in my belly, a beautiful and warm home, and having enough money to pay all of my bills.

 

A simple thing yet something we take for granted, isn’t it? To be honest with you guys, a couple of things recently have dramatically changed the way I think about money: losing my job this June, and now making my own money with my business.

This has taught me some extremely valuable lessons: Nothing is guaranteed, even “stable” 9-5 jobs, it is completely up to you how much money you earn and save, and the amount you make will completely depend on how much work you put in.

With my jobs prior, I was making that paycheck every week and since I knew it was coming, I took advantage of it and I was not good at saving money for a rainy day. Now that I work for myself and my income is dependent on the work I put in, the money I am not investing back into the business, or using to pay my bills, gets put away in savings.

I’m truly grateful for the lessons this has taught me!

I think a lot of people are afraid to start a business because of the uncertainty of it but to me from my past experiences, this somehow feels more stable to me because I am in control of it. I have also learned that the uncertainty is not near as scary when you have savings put aside. When you are thinking ahead and know to put away for those less than stellar sales weeks (or restaurant days, whatever that business may be!) it suddenly seems much more do-able as a long term option.

 

99835A0C-0E82-4CAD-9CD6-7F06071BFF50I’m grateful for Lifetime Christmas movies.

 

YES I STARTED OKAY. I’m sorry mama! I never watch before Thanksgiving but… this year…is just different. I think because we have our first Christmas in the house coming up and that is so exciting!

So we don’t have cable- but we do have Netflix, Amazon, and Hulu live. We just recently got Hulu live because we don’t have cable and it’s amazing! So while I don’t have Hallmark, I’m so thankful we at least have Lifetime!

 

lifetime.jpg

 

Another thing I am grateful for is anyone who still reads my blog, even through all of the ups and downs! I was working hard on my Youtube for awhile but am not ready to blog once a week again and I have so many ideas!

 

What are you feeling grateful for this November?

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “November Gratitude ; Week 1

Leave a comment