A 20 something’s guide to an anxious mind

Listening now…

[My Discover weekly on Spotify this week was totally on point. ]

 

 

Welcome to another guide for our 20 something confused souls. You can find my other guides here: Guide to adultingGuide: 20 something mythsGuide to housework.

 

I pretend to be an expert and you read on foolishly! [ Kidding, I am a complete expert on this actual topic of anxiety. So, no worries. ]

 

If you are in your 20’s, my  guess is that your mind is like  a constant hamster wheel, squeaking obnoxiously in the middle of the night, when you were just about to hit your deepest sleep, only to be awakened by every thought of every possible scenario imaginable.

 

I’m with you, I hear you. 

 

I’m here to offer you a guide to navigating the hamster wheel mind of being in your 20’s.

 

First of all, is it any wonder we have minds running a mile a minute?! We have to think about: student loans, jobs to pay off those student loans, having jobs that are meaningful and that we like, moving out of our parent’s house, surviving on our own, learning how to cook, clean, pay bills, balance our work lives and our personal lives[ I swear this is a learning process forever]….etc, etc.

 

Here is my guide to:

A 20 something’s anxious mind: 

  • Drown your worries in Netflix, blogging, music-whatever your vice is. [As long as it’s healthy. ]  Honestly, you may not want to hear it, but exercise is great too.

The trick is- you need to distract your mind. Find that hobby that makes all of your worries [or at least most of them] go away. 

For me personally,blogging has been therapeutic for me. More than I ever thought it would be. Also, the gym has been very relaxing too- I learned to look forward to getting my anxieties out while running and working out to music.

  • Remember that most people are as nervous as you and don’t know what they are doing, either.

It’s true.

  • Revel in the fact that you are young, have the world in front of you, and have time to figure it out. Revel in the fact that no time figuring it out is wasted. 

Sure, time is precious. But time learning who we are and becoming who we are I think is a necessary process as a young adult. If not now, when?

  • Also, they say it’s about the journey, not the destination.

Frolic about in the fields,  in your buzzed confusion, while taking in the scenes surrounding you. Notice everything. Realize that you are a small fragment of this world, but a huge part of the lives of those you love and connect with. See that this is what matters most in the scheme of things. 

  • Most of all I think- accept and trust your path and the uniqueness that it brings.

Know that it’s completely okay to drift apart from the “norm” and the anticipated path that many take.

I think a lot of our anxieties in our 20’s come from comparing ourselves to others. We know it’s not heathy, but we subconsciously do it anyway. Remember that a Facebook picture tends to hide the struggles going on beneath the surface- comparing ourselves to others without knowing the true story is just mis-leading.

  • Canceling plans is okay…just don’t make a habit of it.

If you don’t feel like leaving your pajamas and your dog, that’s fine. But if it gets to the point of where it is an unhealthy anxiety-avoidance cycle or you find yourself isolating, that’s when it’s not okay.

 

Do you have any other tips that work for you personally?

Thanks for reading! XOXO

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

40 thoughts on “A 20 something’s guide to an anxious mind

  1. Great tips! Spending time with an animal always helps me. Watching the fact that not much in the world matters to them helps to remind me that most of my worries and anxieties really aren’t worth it and are mostly self-created.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great tips… and you have a lovely blog here, truly. Also I’ve never heard that song before–it’s beautiful and haunting. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Ooof… well, this is something that I can literally talk at length about, but I’ll spare you since it’s my first visit, lol. That said, I didn’t experience anxiety until I was in my 30s but it sucks regardless of how old you are, eh? You give wonderful tips. Sometimes you just have to get out there and live and move forward even when the tides of fear drag you back.

    Beautiful post ❤

    Like

  3. These are some great tips. I am in my 40’s and I still get anxious about things. What I do is usually watching something that I have recorded on my DVR that is mindless. It helps me relax. I also get on the treadmill and read.

    Like

  4. Love this post! One of my ways of dealing with anxiety is yoga! I used to be so skeptical of yoga, but I am a firm believer in it! Same with animals. Having a pet takes off so much stress! They are just always so happy and could show you attention all day! Ugh… I just love animals. Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love these tips! I’m more than halfway through my twenties, and still don’t feel like I have anything figured out yet. It can be hard to find purpose in daily routine/life when it seriously seems like an aimless hamster wheel! And certainly, seeing our peers and old friends find success can put unnecessary pressure on ourselves. Good to keep in mind that everyone’s journey is different, and I don’t have to be on the same track as other people.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wonder if we really ever figure it out either- good point about finding purpose in daily routine… That has definitely been part of the struggle for me! For me righr now it’s also because my job has been slow so I feel I need something with more purpose ( if not busy the day drags so badly) im like- im going to go crazy sitting at a desk for 8 hours a day! Lol! Working on other things though… Thanks for reading, glad you could relate 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this guide! Definitely needed something like this right now, I think I’m struggling a bit more than I would because I’m abroad without any of my support immediately next to me. But Netflix and exercise has definitely helped, so thank you for this post!
    – Alexa
    http://misfitalexa.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anxiety is one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to deal with. Even now, when I am fairly medicated for it (my medication is for something else, but treating anxiety is one good side effect of it) I still have things I get anxious about. I still have to double check locks, and plugs, an say it out loud to myself that it’s off/locked/unplugged or I’ll stress about it.

    Like

    • Im sorry you have to deal with it too angie- saying things out loud does help sometimes for me, too! Or even talking to yourself in first person like “theres nothing to worry about right now, you are fine”

      Like

    • Hah the sunday scaries i love that! Lol i def get those too when im thinking about work- i went through a phase when i started my first real job where i wasn’t sleeping at all because i would lay awake thinking every possible thought and scenario in my brain, it was horrible. Lol- hamster wheel brain!

      Like

  8. First off, I love the music you paired with this post! These are all fantastic tips, being true to yourself and getting out all of your creative thoughts really helps.

    Like

  9. This was really helpful, I suffer from anxiety and I constantly need to find ways to cope, I found that being busy helps, also singing is amazing, especially if I’m driving and all of a sudden I start having an anxiety attack I’ll just roll up my windows and blast my music and sing out loud 🙂

    https://shesjustlikeheaven.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • I’m so glad this was helpful to you- I am constantly looking for new ways to cope as well… singing definitely helps for sure… I was trying to learn guitar for awhile and I loved that too, need to get back into that. Exercise has been a huge one for me, they say it can be as helpful if not more than antidepressants. Thank you for stopping by fellow wordpress friend! [always happy to find other word pressers that I can follow on my reader 🙂 ]

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: March triumphs; April goals | thegoodthingscomin

  11. Pingback: Friyay Thoughts… | thegoodthingscomin

  12. Pingback: November gratitude: week 1 | thegoodthingscomin

  13. Pingback: 2016 triumphs; 2017 goals | thegoodthingscomin

  14. Pingback: 20 somethings guide to accepting and loving change | thegoodthingscomin

  15. Pingback: 20 somethings guide to an indecisive mind | thegoodthingscomin

  16. Pingback: An Introvert’s “Peace” of Mind | thegoodthingscomin

Leave a comment